Becoming a Board of Education Member

  • The Rye Neck Board of Education is made up of six members who are elected by voters living in the school district. Members of the Board serve for a three-year term. Terms are staggered so that each year the terms of two members expire.

    Each spring, voters not only elect two Board members but are also asked to approve the school district’s annual operating budget for the upcoming school year.

    This year, the election of Board members and the school budget vote are scheduled to take place on Tuesday, May 17. The current three-year terms of Board members Gloria Golle and Pietro Fasolino will expire this year. 

    Candidates seeking to become a Board of Education member must be nominated by petition. Candidates should contact District Clerk Mary Ellen Chiera at or 914-777-5252 to obtain the petition and any other required materials.

    The qualifications of a Rye Neck Board candidate are that the candidate be:

    ● able to read and write;
    ● a qualified voter of the district; and
    ● a resident of the school district for at least one year immediately prior to election

    At this point, it is uncertain whether candidates will once again be required to obtain a certain amount of voter signatures to support their petition. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the traditional signature requirement was waived last year under an executive order by Governor Cuomo. We will post updates when these decisions are made at the state level.

    Anyone who is interested in seeking election as a Board member is encouraged to see Section 2000 of the Rye Neck Policy Manual, which details all aspects of Board of Education governance, responsibilities and operations.

    The New York State School Boards Association has also developed a helpful brochure on what prospective school board members should know about taking on this important community responsibility.

    In addition, the members of the current Board have offered their thoughts on what it means to serve on the Rye Neck Board of Education.