Awards Ceremony Recognizes RNHS Students’ Achievements

Awards Ceremony Recognizes RNHS Students’ Achievements  thumbnail120476
Juniors and seniors were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments during the annual Rye Neck High School Awards Ceremony on May 30. They were presented with awards in a variety of categories, including academics, arts, athletics and community scholarships. 

Principal Tina Wilson provided the opening remarks before Superintendent of Schools Dr. Ferraro recognized seniors Rafael Zyngier and Grace O’Rourke as the valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, of the Class of 2019. Administrators and teachers presented academic awards to students in each department, including English, science, math, technology, social studies, foreign languages, arts, music, health and physical education, and special achievement and community service. 

Curtis Alter, Joseph Catanzariti, Doris Igrec, Ema Jovanovic, Grace O’Rourke, Margaret Victory and Rafael Zyngier were recognized for being the 2019 National Merit Commended Students. Risa Liebmann, Delaney Park and Elena Tisnovsky were recognized for being 2019 National Merit finalists.

The Blue Ribbon Award for Service, Leadership, Achievement and Rye Neck Spirit was awarded to Julian Allison, Stella Ewen-Tanaka, Cole Hodys, Doris Igrec, Lucia Kaempf, Colin Kelly, Olivia King, Jose Latorre, Risa Liebmann, Elizabeth Mioli, Charlotte Murphy, Anna Nakagama, Nicole Pereira and Rebecca Tenner. The PTSA Scholarship Award, presented to a graduating senior who consistently exemplified scholastic integrity, commitment to the school community and an admirable record of volunteerism, was awarded to Stephanie Corona.